In the course of time the purely agricultural work of the Department came to demand greater attention; the non-agricultural functions were one by one entrusted to other Departments of the Government, while specialization became the order of the day within the Department of Agriculture itself. At the present time it includes the following branches: (1) Experimental Farms; (2) Dairy and Cold Storage; (3) Health of Animals; (4) Live Stock; (5) Seed; (6) Entomological; (7) Fruit; (8) Publications; (9) Agricultural Economics.

For the Acts of Parliament administered by the Dominion Department of Agriculture, see in the index "Acts of Parliament administered by Dominion Government Departments" For the publications of the Department, covering a wide field of information, see in the index the entry "Publications of Dominion Departments".

## Subsection 2.—Provincial Departments of Agriculture.<sup>1</sup>

Prince Edward Island.—The Department of Agriculture is presided over by a Minister, and the staff consists of a Deputy Minister, a Live Stock Superintendent, a Superintendent of Women's Institutes and a Dairy Superintendent. Assistance is given in co-operative marketing, promoting the live-stock industry and encouraging exhibitions, the formation of boys' and girls' clubs and the welfare of agriculture generally.

Nova Scotia.—Agriculture in the province of Nova Scotia is administered by the Department of Agriculture. The Department is divided into the following main divisions: (1) administration, (2) agricultural college, (3) demonstration farm, (4) demonstration poultry plant, (5) poultry, (6) government creameries, (7) dairying, (8) horticulture, (9) apiculture, (10) live stock, (11) entomology, (12) botany, (13) soils and fertilizers, (14) agricultural associations and societies, (15) exhibitions, (16) extension service, (17) women's institutes, (18) field crops, (19) marketing.

New Brunswick.—The branches of the Department of Agriculture of New Brunswick are as follows: (1) industry, immigration and farm settlement, (2) elementary agricultural education, (3) agricultural societies and live stock, (4) dairying, (5) horticulture, (6) soils and crops, (7) poultry, (8) bee-keeping, (9) women's institutes, (10) agricultural representatives.

Quebec.—The Quebec Department of Agriculture comprises a certain number of branches and sections as follows: Agricultural Economics Branch, including the following sections: publicity; co-operation, markets and statistics; demonstration farms; agricultural surveys; field husbandry; drainage; home economics; beekeeping and sugar making; agricultural societies. Live Stock Branch, including the following sections: dairy; veterinary; swine; sheep; horses; poultry; farm buildings. Horticulture Branch, including the following sections: fruit growing; truck crops; vegetable canning; flower growing; phytopathology; entomology; botany. Agricultural Representatives Branch: 82 agricultural representatives' offices are now established in rural counties of Quebec and are under the supervision of 6 inspectors. The above organizations are all under one General Director of Branches.

There are other activities which are not included in the above organization, such as: agricultural education; agricultural merit competition; provincial dairy school.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>For publications of provincial Departments of Agriculture, see in the index the entry "Publications of Provincial Governments".